Posted by: Jennelyn J.M. Natividad | June 17, 2009

More on figs…

Tonight’s salad: I tossed some butter lettuce, arugula, radicchio, cucumbers, & half-forgotten mushrooms from the crisper together in a big bowl, and topped it all off w/ some newly picked starfish figs. Figs are high in Calcium and fiber, & most often bear a complex, syrupy sweetness. Different varietals vary in coloring, shape & size. My favorite is the Misssion w/c produces dark, elongated fruit. The texture of its flesh varies depending on the degree of ripeness. It can be eaten firm, but I prefer it almost mushy. Dress this salad simply with Olive oil & lemon.

These starfish look-alikes are really Mission figs cut in quarters

These starfish look-alikes are really Mission figs cut in quarters

I'm no fig expert, but it seems that this crop that we're enjoying now have come too early in the season.

Figs are native to the Mediterranean, this much I know. Supposedly, Brothers from a Franciscan Mission in San Francisco were one of the first to cultivate figs in North America. I'm grateful to have it growing in our frontyard, literally steps from our front door. I also noticed an enormous fig tree practically growing on pavement right by my exit off the 10 freeway

Figs are native to the Mediterranean, this much I know. Supposedly, Brothers from a Franciscan Mission in San Francisco were one of the first to cultivate figs in North America. I'm grateful to have it growing in our front yard, literally steps from our door. I also noticed an enormous fig tree practically growing on pavement right by my exit off the 10 freeway

IMG_3780[1]

Leave a Reply

Categories

